Baywide Club Sevens titles decided

Photo: Bay of Plenty Rugby/Facebook.

The weather didn't hinder the excitement of sevens rugby at Paengaroa on Saturday.

In the Open Men's Sir Gordon Tietjens Trophy final, Greerton Marist and Tauranga Sports provided a fitting end to a successful day of sevens.

Greerton Marist successfully secured their spot in the final after knocking out defending champions Rangataua. However, they were unable to secure the title with Tauranga Sports pulling out a clinical performance to win 26-14.

The Women's Exia Edwards Trophy final was an impressive watch for spectators. In a tightly contested final between Rangiuru and Rangataua, Rangataua provided a competitive comeback but it was Rangiuru who held out their rivals defending their title 19-12.

This year's Te Manawa Whenua grade provided a day of exciting rugby match ups.

Defending title holders Waikite faced up against Rangiuru. In a tightly contested battle, Rangiuru successfully defeated Waikite 14-12 to be crowned the 2017 Te Manawa Whenua winners.

In the Tight Five final, Te Puke Sports were too strong for Paroa claiming the title 27-0, to be crowned the new title holders for 2017.

Bay of Plenty Baywide Club Sevens Results: Sir Gordon Tietjens Trophy (Men's Open Final):

Tauranga Sports 26 v Greerton Marist 14

Exia Edwards Trophy (Women's Open Final):

Rangiuru 19 v Rangataua 12

Te Manawa Whenua Final:

Rangiuru 14 v Waikite 12

Tight Five Final:

Te Puke Sports 27 v Paroa 0

Full Results:


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

What are your thoughts on the council’s proposal to increase rates 40 per cent over the next three years?

Good, it will help pay to revitilise the city
Not good, rates are high enough now
I’m ok with an increase, but maybe not such a big one

Bay Today

Bottle rebellion in Bethlehem on the weekend.  Photo: Richard Turner.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.