New rankings in WBOP Cricket Reserve

File image/SunLive.

There was a changing of the guard in the Western Bay of Plenty Reserve Grade championship, with Te Puke and Mount Maunganui moving into second and third place on the standings, after results were posted on Saturday.

Mount Maunganui easily accounted for R&A Sangha, when they bowled them out for 122 and then cruised to a nine wicket win. Henry Conway did the damage with the ball, with four wickets for 21 runs, while former Bay of Plenty senior representative Kyle Dovey top scored for the Mount with 51 runs.

A six wicket haul from Te Puke's Cameron Murray, saw Tauranga Boys College removed for 115, with Harsh Patel showing defiance with 40 runs. Denym Clarke took his side home to a seven wicket victory, with a hard fought 66 runs.

Papamoa retained their place at the top of the standings, after providing Greerton Kings with an 81 run defeat. Aaron Barbour continued his good form with the bat, top scoring with 42, while Kings bowler Mike Rowlands grabbed four bowling scalps. Guy Wilkins and Dave Tuck did the majority of the damage as the Greerton side were bowled out for 77.

Sikh Sports won the Indian team derby against the Singh XI, while Greerton moved up the points ladder beating Cadets in a low scoring encounter.

PapaOMA's continued their second half of the season B Grade renaissance, when they posted 275/5 against Tauranga Boys College Colts. Tony Jackson top scored with 82 runs with Josh Gilmore also in good touch with 75 to his name. Tauranga Boys made a valiant attempt to haul in the big target, with Te Manewha Rikihana (34) and Darcy Colley (29) getting amongst the runs, while Nitin Bindal was the best of the Papamoa side bowlers returning 4/21.

A Grasshoppers century from Bob Curran took his team home against Mount Maunganui Inanga. Curran belted 112 runs in his sides 281/6 with Ray Body posting 65 not out. The Mount youngster posted a respectable 156 all out, with Kade Smith top scoring with 64 runs, while Craig Williamson took five wickets for the winners.

Mount Maunganui accounted for Albion, competition front runners Papamoa Wanderers defeated Tauranga Boys College thirds, with Greerton posting 266 runs before bowling Katikati out for 189 to cement second place on the leader board.

Western Bay of Plenty Cricket Results 18 January 2020

Reserve Grade

Singh XI 186 (Varinder Sandhu 37, Kuljit Singh 37, Amrit Singh 32, Gagandeep Samra 4/50) lost to Sikh Sports 187/7 (Gagandeep Samra 83, Sukhdeep Sidhu 32, JP Singh 32, Ricky Barring 3/43)

R&A Sangha 122 (Yogesh Kumar 41, Henry Conway 4/21, Steve Charman 3/21) lost to Mount Maunganui 123/1 (Kyle Dovey 51, David March 36no)

Tauranga Boys College 115 (Harsh Patel 40, Cameron Murray 6/19) lost to Te Puke 116/3 (Denym Clarke 66)

Papamoa 158 (Aaron Barbour 52, Paul Inglis 36no, Mike Rowlands 4/29) defeated Greerton Kings 77 (Guy Wilkins 4/11, Dave Tuck 3/27)

Greerton 117 defeated Cadets 64

Aquinas College the bye.

Points Table (Provisional) Papamoa 216, Te Puke 185, Mount Maunganui 175, Cadets 172, Sikh Sports 172, Greerton Kings 168, Greerton 132, R&A Sangha 129, Singh XI 127, Aquinas College 101, Tauranga Boys College 60.

B Grade

Albion 141 (Kerry Hale 35, Stefan White 5/22, John White 4/17) lost to Mount Maunganui 142/6 (Mankaran Singh 60no, Simon Clotworthy 31)

Grasshoppers 281/6 (Bob Curran 112, Ray Body 65no) defeated Mount Maunganui Inanga 156 (Kade Smit 64, Craig Williamson 5/20, Jef Holmes 3/34)

PapaOMA's 275/6 (Tony Jackson 82, Josh Gilmore 75, Xavier Lea 42no) defeated Tauranga Boys College Colts 146/8 (Te Manewha Rikihana 34, Darcy Collett 29, Nitin Bindal 4/21)

Tauranga Boys College Third XI 133 lost to Papamoa Wanderers 139/4

Greeerton 266 defeated Katikati 189

Points Table (Provisional) Papamoa Wanderers 60, Greerton 45, PapaOMA's 39, Grasshoppers 33, Mount Maunganui 27, Albion 27, Katikati 21, Tauranga Boys College Third XI 18, Tauranga Boys College Colts 15, Mount Maunganui Inanga 9.

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now