United Indians retain Don Warner trophy

File Image. SunLive.

The United Indians skipper backed his bowlers to the hilt, and asked Papamoa to bat after winning the toss, in their Classic Builders Reserve Grade clash at Fergusson Park on Saturday.

With the Don Warner challenge trophy on the line, Papamoa's innings was in tatters are just eighteen overs, being rolled for 41 runs.

Gurjant Singh grabbed five wickets at a cost of just 18 runs with DS Bhatti taking three wickets. The defending Reserve Grade champions wasted little time in getting home to victory, albeit losing three wickets on the way.

The Don Warner challenge trophy, changed hands for the third time in the fifty over per side competition, with United Indians regaining the trophy that was awarded to them at season start as the current titleholders.

Cadets won a rain affected match against Te Puke, with the Tauranga Domain based sided chasing down their second innings target after Te Puke posted 138, batting first. Match honours belonged to Te Puke's Simon Eve with 36 runs while Danny Dixon led Cadets to victory with an unbeaten 35.

Mount Maunganui held on to their unbeaten First Round record after beating Tauranga Boys College by four wickets. Tauranga Boys were removed for 144 with George Moore top scoring with 35 not out. Mount skipper Nick Smith led his sides charge for victory with 43 runs.

Greerton beat Aquinas College in another match where rain was a factor - with Katikati reaching 23/2 against Hawks at the KCG @ Moore Park, before the match was eventually abandoned.

Te Puke Blue batsman Amritpal Bopari grabbed the weekend batting honours, with a sterling 92 not out in Classic Builders B Grade pool two action, as his side chased down Grasshoppers solid total of 171/7. Jassi Sidhu also posted a half century, as the Te Puke side got home with seven wickets to spare.

TBC 3rd XI bowler Oliver Norwood weaved his own piece of magic with the ball as Greerton were rolled for 64, in a pool one encounter. Norwood returned figures of five wickets at a cost of just 12 runs. Tauranga Boys cruised to victory for the loss of a solitary wicket.

Other B Grade matches saw Hawks beat Te Puke Green, Albion grab their first win of the competition over Katikati and R&A Sangha defeat Mount Maunganui, in pool one. The battle of youth in pool two resulted in Mount Maunganui Inanga beating TBC 4th XI, PapaOMA’s 98 run total enough to get past Cadets and Katikati Singh XI defeating Bay Blasters by two wickets.

Classic Builders Reserve Grade Results 4 December 2021

Te Puke 138 (Simon Eves 36, Mathew Ward 32) lost to Cadets - rain adjusted target 119/6 (Danny Dixon 35no)

Tauranga Boys College 144 (George Moore 35no; Josh Allen 3/37) lost to Mount Maunganui 146/6 (Nick Smith 43, Gagandeep Samra 39; Fynn Williamson 3/28)

Greerton 168 (Ben Lind 50; Toby Elsom 4/40, Luca Adsett 3/15) defeated Aquinas College - rain adjusted target 64/6

Papamoa 41 (Gurjant Singh 5/18, DS Bhatti 3/4) lost to United Indians 43/3

Katikati 23/2 v Hawks match abandoned - R& A Sangha the bye.

Points Table (Provisional) Mount Maunganui 122, United Indians 110, Katikati 78, Greerton 77, Cadets 75, R&A Sangha 68, Papamoa 66, Hawks 59, Tauranga Boys College 53, Aquinas College 46, Te Puke 38.

Classic Builders B Grade Results

Pool One

Te Puke Green 171 (Barnvit Singh 32, Gurpreet Pedda 31; Verinder Singh 4/22) lost to Hawks 173/5 (Jasvir Dhillon 51, Mayank Saini 50)

Greerton 64 (Oliver Norwood 5/12) lost to TBC 3rd XI 65/1 (Riley Brady 30no, Aryan Aryal 29)

Katikati 120 (Max Morton 30) lost to Albion 121/4 (Daryll Blunsdon 30)

R&A Sangha 177/9 (Varinder Sandhu 48, Mohammad Ahammed 48no; Karl Friend 3/14) defeated Mount Maunganui 139/7 (Jason Luke 31)

Points Table (Provisional) Hawks 37, TBC 3rd XI 31, R&A Sangha 31,Te Puke Green 19, Mount Maunganui 19, Albion 13, Katikati 13, Greerton 11.

Pool Two

Grasshoppers 171/7 (Craig Williamson 47, Bob Curran 37; Happy Singh 3/31, Rana Virk 3/33) lost to Te Puke Blue 174/3 (Amritpal Bopari 92no, Jassi Sidhu 53)

Mount Maunganui Inanga 155 (Sam Vague 31; Vaibhav Choubey 3/14) defeated TBC 4th XI 89 (Carson Edwards 3/26)

PapaOMA's 98 (Joe Smythe 4/18, Adam Manners 4/27) defeated Cadets 70/4 (Te Manawha Rikihana 32)

Bay Blasters 134 (Mandeep Singh 3/22) lost to Katikati Singh XI 138/8 (Rajkaran Singh 55; Richu Tharakau 4/23)

Points Table (Provisional) Te Puke Blue 37, PapaOMA's 31, Cadets 26, Grasshoppers 26, Mount Maunganui Inanga 20, Katikati Singh XI 14, Bay Blasters 13, TBC 4th XI 13.

You may also like....


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now