Trump issues new travel ban

US President Donald Trump has signed a new executive order on immigration today.

Trump's aide, Kellyanne Conway, stated earlier that the revised order has surfaced following an earlier ban which was subsequently blocked by the Supreme Court.

Unlike its predecessor, the new version has left Iraq off the banned list, but continues to impose a 90-day travel ban for citizens of Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen.

Ms Conway told Fox News that green card holders from the named countries will not be affected, and that the ban will take effect on March 16.

It is hoped by Trump's administration that the advance notice will help to avoid a repeat of the disorderly scenes that greeted the first order in January, when many travellers with valid visas were detained by border officials.

It is not yet known whether this latest version of the ban will face any legal challenge.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Do you shop online for Christmas presents or prefer going into the store?

Going to the store

Bay Today

Christmas lilies. Photo: Graham Woodhead.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.