Mount scoops top spot

Platinum Pacific Reclad Mount Maunganui has won the Baker Cup for the second successive season after wrapping up the Western Bay of Plenty one-day championship on Saturday.

Saturday's opponent, Tauranga Boys' College, put up a spirited challenge for the Mount with them batting first and scoring 191. This was led with a half-century from Sean Davey.

Mount Maunganui was made to fight for the 192 needed with some spirited bowling by the home team. Peter Drysdale (47) and Sheldon Kearns (37) led the way for the Mount top order, but it was left to Dale Swan (27no) Daniel Hill (19no) to get their side home for the loss of six wickets.

Element IMF Cadets ensured that they took second place in the Western Bay, earning a berth in the Northern Districts Club finals, when they easily defeated East Bay United on Saturday.

Batting first, Cadets set the home team a sizable target when they were dismissed for 240. Trent Boult led the way with a gritty 69, while Joel Mathews was the best of the Eastern Bay side bowlers taking 3/44.

The home side's visit to the batting crease was short and sharp with the Cadets bowlers in rampant form as the Eastern Bay side was rolled for 32.

Campbell Wilson grabbed a five wicket bag, with ND pace bowler Trent Boult returning the outstanding figures of four wickets for just three runs.

In what turned out to be a low scoring encounter at Te Puke Domain, Eves Realty Greerton finished the Western Bay championship in third place after defeating Ultimate Motor Group Te Puke.

After mustering just 124 runs, the Greerton bowlers took charge of the match to have the home side all out for 101. Te Puke's Mitch McCann grabbed a five-wicket bag, with Greerton batsman Craig Budd posting the highest total of the encounter with 27 runs.

Western BOP Premier Cricket Results October 30

Element IMF Cadets 240 (Trent  Boult 69, Ben Christensen 51, Richard Rice 41; Joel Mathews 3/44) defeated East Bay United 32 (Campbell Wilson 5/21, T Boult 4/3)

Eves Realty Greerton 124 (Craig Budd 27, Shane Wineti 20; Mitch McCann 5/22, Tom Boshier 2/19, Seth Adamson 2/30) defeated Ultimate Motor Group Te Puke 101 (M McCann 26, Tim Clarke 26; Mo Singh 3/20, James Birchall 2/18, Murray Jarvis 2/21, Brett Hampton 2/28)

Tauranga Boys' College 191 (Sean Davey 57, Mark Orchard 32, Cameron Neal 30; Daniel Hill 4/23, Chris Atkinson 2/17, Ross Chadwick 2/30 lost to Platinum Pacific Reclad Mount Maunganui 192/6 (Peter Drysdale 47, Sheldon Kearns 37, D Swan 27no, Daniel Hill 19no; M Orchard 2/24)


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Should the Christmas/New Year school holidays be moved to February when the weather is typically better in NZ?

Yes, that is when I would take my holidays.
No, you never know when there is going to be bad weather.

Bay Today

Double take of Matapihi Bridge. Photo: Lynley Whitaker.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.