Six candidates for Mauao by-election

Six people are contesting Te Awanui Black’s former council seat. File Photo.

Six people have been nominated for Te Awanui Black’s former Mauao Maori Constituency seat on the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

The nominees are Carlton Bidois, Antoine Coffin, Matire Duncan, Paora Paul Martin, Matemoana McDonald and Christopher Stokes.

The Mauao Maori Constituency by-election is scheduled for next month.

Voting packs will be posted out to voters registered on the Mauao Maori electoral roll from March 20, with voting closing at midday on April 11.

Only voters registered on the Maori electoral roll in the Mauao Maori constituency are eligible to vote in the by-election, says Electoral Officer Robyn Garrett.

The Mauao Maori constituency extends from the top of the Kaimai Mamaku ranges to Waihi Beach and Otamarakau, including Katikati, Tauranga, Matakana, Te Puke, Maketu, Pongakawa and the surrounding areas.

There are three Maori seats on the regional council; Okurei Maori currently held by Arapeta Tahana, Kohi Maori held by Tiipene Parenara Marr, and the Mauao seat.

The by-election for the Mauao Maori seat  to fill the extraordinary vacancy created by the tragic passing of Te Awanui Black in November 2016.

For more information about the by-election is available on the Bay of plenty Regional Council’s website at:


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now