National squash line-up announced

The Egyptians who will be defending their 2015 title.

Fourteen nations will compete in the 2017 Women's World Junior Squash Championship in Tauranga in July.

And hosts New Zealand will lead a select group of six nations that have competed in each championship since the inaugural event in 1985.

Australia, the first champions, together with Canada, England, Germany, USA and New Zealand have battled in all 16 previous events – sharing eight titles between them.

The complete list of national teams competing in Tauranga has just been announced. They're Australia, Canada, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong China, India, Ireland, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Africa and USA.

Seven times champions Egypt which began its women's world junior team campaign in 1993 will be back to defend its 2015 title.

Further nations will be represented by their top male and female juniors for the individual events. The deadline for entries is June 1 and the championship will.

The 17th biennial championships will take place at the Devoy Squash and Fitness Centre in Tauranga from July 25-29. That's after the Individual Championships from July 19-24.

1 Comment


Posted on 08-03-2017 07:55 | By NZer

This is where i would expext Susan Devoy to spend a fair bit of time helping out. This is where she has her expertise, not trying to divide the nation....

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now
Opinion Poll

Should assisted-suicide be allowed in cases where people are terminally ill?


Bay Today

Walk around the Mount. Photos: Denis Player.

Send us your photos from around the Bay of Plenty.