Two ends of the spectrum at surfing champs

Andrew Mann. Image courtesy of Cory / NZ Surfing Magazine.

It was all about the youth and the seniors on day three of the Health 2000 National Surfing Championships 2019 held at Mokotuna, Taranaki.

Surfers as young as nine and as old as 70 took to the waves which were a solid 1.5m at times, with moderate cross-onshore southwest winds. The faces of the waves were clean despite the cross shore winds.

The senior surfers battled the bigger conditions to start the day renewing old rivalries that often only surface on an annual basis at these championships.

Mount Maunganui surfer Darren Kiwi continued his return to the competitive arena with a polished 15.43 point heat total to advance into the semifinals of the Over 45 Men’s Division.

Kiwi was pushed until the final hooter by Raglan’s Geoff Hutchison who finished with a 13.83 point heat total to finish second, the two surfers set to meet again in the semifinals.

Andrew Mann (Auck) advanced through his first two ‘at-bats’ and sees himself in the final of the Over 50 Men’s Division as well as the Over 45 Men’s Semifinals.

He was bested by Hutchison who advanced to the final of the Over 50 and 55s as well as the semifinals of the Over 45 Men’s Division.

Thirty-five time title holder John Gisby (Gis) emerged from the paddocks to contest the Over 60 Men’s Division in fine fashion.

A heat total of 13.33 points was enough for a comfortable win and progression into the finals where he will surf against Michael Gray, Brian Clark (Tara) and Rupert Newbold (Whangarei) and a chance to secure yet another title.

The first five titles of the event were awarded in the Senior Women’s Divisions, the titles being contested across two combined finals.

Oakura surfer Thandi Durham won the Over 30 Women’s Division while Whangarei surfer Heather Easterbrook won the Over 35 Women’s title.

The Over 40 Women’s title went to Donna Henderson (Chch) for the second year running. Lee Orton (Whangarei) won the Over 50 Women’s title and Hawkes Bay surfer Marguerite Vujcich defended her title in the Over 55 Women’s Division.

The finalists were found in he Under 16 Girls Division with Brie Bennett (Rag) and Ava Henderson (Chch) edging ahead of Amarnie Barber (Aus) in the closest of semifinals, Barber posting a 7.43 on her final wave when hunting a 7.5 for progression. The second semifinal saw Liv Haysom (Piha) advance alongside Natasha Gouldsbury (Tara).

Raglan’s Navryn Malone surfed to the highest score of the event to date in the Under 14 Boys Division scoring 17.0 out of a possible 20 points.

The lefthand point break suited his style that has been honed on the point breaks of Raglan.

Tai Erceg – Gray (Whangarei) won the second semifinal with a 13.0 point heat, his second sharp performance after earlier surfing to 13.67 points in his first round match up.

The two surfers are joined by Ryder Pennington (Tara) and Tigher West – Hill (Gis).

Wednesday sees the introduction of longboarding to the mix with Stand Up Paddleboard and Bodyboard joining on Thursday and Kneeboard on Friday.

The surf is expected to build again on Wednesday with variable winds which will make for an exciting day of action.

See below for results from day three of the Health 2000 National Surfing Championships held at Mokotuna, Taranaki today (Tuesday 8th January).

Over 45 Men’s Division Round 1
Heat 1
Phil Wallis (Piha), 10.8, 1, Andrew Mann (Auck), 10.1, 2, Jeremy Williams (Mnt), 9.2, 3, Shaun Coffey (Tara), 6.57, 4
Heat 2
Patrick Braithwaite (Gis), 12, 1, Deane Hishon (Rag), 11, 2, Tony Schafer (Tara), 10.4, 3, T Porter (Tara), n/s, ###
Heat 3
Darren Kiwi (Mnt), 15.3, 1, Geoff Hutchison (Rag), 13.8, 2, Chris Blain (Tara), 9.93, 3, Jeff Piper (Tara), 7.06, 4

Over 50 Men’s Division Round 1
Heat 1
Chris Blain (Tara), 13.2, 1, Geoff Hutchison (Rag), 9.04, 2, Phill Wallis (Piha), 8.6, 3, Francois Sneedon (Hbay), 4.93, 4
Heat 2
Andrew Mann (Auck), 14.1, 1, Brian Young (Auck), 11.3, 2, Phil Willoughby (Rag), 10.2, 3, John Roussey (Chch), n/s, 4

Over 55 Men’s Division Round 1
Heat 1
Geoff Hutchison (Rag), 13.7, 1, Phil Griffin (Mnt), 8.3, 2, Mark Hoyle (Auck), 5.97, 3
Heat 2
Phill Wallis (Piha), 3.7, 1, Michi Jungwirth (Rag), 3.1, 2, John Roussey (Chch),  , 0, Phil Isaac (Wgtn),  , 0

Over 60 Men’s Division Round 1
Heat 1
John Gisby (Gis), 13.33, 1, Michael Gray (Auck), 7.43, 2, .Ross Moodie (Gis), 3.4, 3
Heat 2
Brian Clark (Tara), 10.83, 1, Rupert Newbold (Whngrei), 7.63, 2, Ady Van Der Beek (Mnt), 5.77, 4

Under 14 Boys Division Round of 18
Heat 1
Tana Clapham (Rag), 13.26, 1, Dale Cromhout (Hbay), 11.5, 2, Will Hardie (Piha), 9.23, 3, Gabriel Lobb (Tara), 6.97, 4

Under 14 Boys Division Round of 16
Heat 1
Ryder Pennington (Tara), 14.27, 1, Tiger West-Hill (Gis), 11.5, 2, Jack Mckenzie (Waikuku), 6.33, 3, Indica Corcoran (Mnt),  , 0
Heat 2
Navryn Malone (Rag), 13.4, 1, Dale Cromhout (Hbay), 8.86, 2, Karne Gabbot (Dun), 5.3, 3, Kalani Louis (Tara), 3.2, 4
Heat 3
Tai Erceg-Gray (Whngrei), 13.6, 1, Tana Clapham (Rag), 10.57, 2, Jack Tyro (Chch), 7.3, 3, Journey Lum (Whngrei), 3.43, 4
Heat 4
Mathias Thompson (Piha), 8.37, 1, Bill Byers (Piha), 6.87, 2, Eli Livingston (Gis), 6.23, 3, Hugo  Sale (Auck), 2.7, 4

Under 14 Boys Division Semifinals
Heat 1
Navryn Malone (Rag), 17, 1, Ryder Pennington (Tara), 11.34, 2, Bill Byers (Piha), 10.57, 3, Tana Clapham (Rag), 8, 4
Heat 2
Tai Erceg-Gray (Whngrei), 13, 1, Tiger West-Hill (Gis), 11.53, 2, Dale Cromhout (Hbay), 7.06, 3, Mathias Thompson (Piha), 6.94, 4

Under 16 Boys Semifinals
Heat 1
Brie Bennett (Rag), 13.1, 1, Ava Henderson (Chch), 12.76, 2, Amarnie Barber (Aus), 12.7, 3
Heat 2
Liv Haysom (Piha), 11.6, 1, Natasha Gouldsbury (Tara), 9.33, 2, Leah Wilson (Chch), 6.97, 3



There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now