Does Tauranga have a New Zealander of the Year?

Tauranga Mayor Greg Brownless. Image: Bruce Barnard/SunLive.

Mayor Greg Brownless is calling on residents to nominate someone from Tauranga for the 2020 New Zealander of the Year award, urging them to think hard about the people in their community who go the extra mile for others.

Nominations for the prestigious award and its five supporting categories opened last month and will remain open until 15 September 2019.

“There’s no shortage of exceptional citizens whose sacrifice, optimism and generosity make our community the best it can be,” Greg says.

“Whether it’s the volunteer, high-achiever, or someone who went the extra mile to help others – these are real people displaying real acts of kindness. They represent the best of us and make Tauranga a much better place to live in.

“I urge everyone who knows someone doing good deeds in our community to put forward a nomination. Let’s show New Zealand just how great the people of Tauranga really are”.

The annual New Zealander of the Year Awards are now in their 11th year. They recognise, encourage and reward New Zealand’s most vital asset – people. Open to all New Zealanders, the Awards celebrate the contributions of New Zealanders from all walks of life.

Nominations are also being sought for exceptional New Zealanders in the following categories:

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

University of Auckland Young New Zealander of the Year (15-30 years)

Ryman Healthcare Senior New Zealander of the Year (70 years and over)

Kiwibank New Zealand Local Hero of the Year

Trade Me New Zealand Innovator of the Year

Mitre10 New Zealand Community of the Year

The 2020 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year and other category winners will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Gala Awards in Auckland on February 20, 2020.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award are: Mike King (2019), Kristine Bartlett (2018), Taika Waititi (2017), Richie McCaw (2016), Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).

More information on the 2020 New Zealander of the Year Awards can be found at

You may also like...


Who cares?

Posted on 07-08-2019 17:43 | By Slim Shady

The question should be why you have the time to be so concerned about it Greg, given you’ve overseen a period of cock up after cock up. You won’t win, that’s for sure.

Nzer of year

Posted on 07-08-2019 15:01 | By gincat

I nominate the person who can open Welcome Bay’s slip lane. Perhaps I am a year early

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now