53 candidates contesting Western Bay of Plenty

Head office of Western Bay of Plenty District Council at Barkes Corner.

A total of 53 candidates are contesting this year’s Local Body Elections in the Western Bay of Plenty.

Nominations closed on Friday ahead of polling day on Saturday, October 12 for Western Bay of Plenty District Council and the District’s Community Boards.

There are three candidates for the Western Bay mayoralty – Stephen Fawcett, Margaret Murray-Benge and Garry Webber, while 23 are standing to gain a seat in one of Council’s three respective wards.

In the Te Puke-Maketu Ward, six are standing for the four seats, seven for the four Kaimai Ward seats and 10 for Katikati-Waihi Beach Ward’s three seats.

Western Bay enrolled voters can expect to receive their voting packs for the Western Bay of Plenty District Council and Community Board elections in the post from Friday, September 20.

Western Bay voting packs also include voting information for the Bay of Plenty Regional Council and the Bay of Plenty District Health Board.

Voting will close at midday Saturday, October 12 with progress results expected to be announced early afternoon. They will be available on Council’s designated Elections page.

Official results will be available by Thursday, October 17 and posted on Council’s website.

The Western Bay of Plenty stretches from Waihi Beach to Otamarakau, covering 212,000 hectares of coastal, rural and urban areas and is one of NZ's fastest growing provincial districts. .

Elections 2019 - Final Candidate List:

Mayor (1 vacancy)

  • Stephen Fawcett
  • Margaret Murray-Benge
  • Garry Webber

Councillor - Te Puke-Maketu Ward (4 vacancies)

  • Grant Dally
  • Stephen Fawcett
  • Mike Lally
  • Monique Lints
  • Kevin Marsh
  • John Scrimgeour

Councillor - Kaimai Ward (4 vacancies)

  • Suaree Borell
  • Mark Dean
  • John Evans
  • Murray Grainger
  • Margaret Murray-Benge
  • John Palmer
  • Don Thwaites

Councillor - Katikati-Waihi Beach Ward (3 vacancies)

  • Neil Candy
  • John Clements
  • James Denyer
  • Anne Henry
  • Christina Humphreys
  • Tangiwai Manihera-Palmer
  • David Marshall
  • Allan Sole
  • Kevin Tohiariki
  • George Van Dyke

Maketu Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

  • William Ra Anaru
  • Shane Beech
  • Juliette Brawn
  • Wendy Mcfayden
  • Laura Rae
  • Stephan Simpson

Te Puke Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

  • Richard Crawford
  • Gina Davies
  • Joan Dugmore
  • Kassie Ellis
  • Stephen Fawcett
  • Larissa Hika
  • Richard McNair
  • Tupaea Rolleston
  • Dale Snell

Omokoroa Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

  • John Evans
  • Peter Presland
  • Derek Sage
  • Teresa Sage
  • Puran Bhag Singh

Katikati Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

  • John Clements
  • Neil Harray
  • Christina Humphreys
  • Norm Mayo
  • Kate Sutherland
  • George Van Dyke
  • Ben Warren
  • Kamal Yadav

Waihi Beach Community Board – Member (4 vacancies)

  • Ross Goudie
  • Bob Hulme
  • Marilyn Roberts
  • Don Ryan

Final list of 2019 Election candidates confirmed Friday August 16 2019 at 10.30pm

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now