Garry Webber returns as mayor of Western Bay

Garry Webber, mayor of Western Bay District Council . File photo

Garry Webber has been successful in winning back the mayoralty for Western Bay of Plenty.

Progress results for the 2019 Local Body Elections in the Western Bay of Plenty have been announced, with Garry winning by a nearly 1000 vote margin.

As at 1.40pm Saturday, October 12, 95 per cent of the votes have been counted.

The preliminary results show that Garry has 5466 votes, Margaret Murray-Benge 4498 votes, and Stephen Fawcett 1557 votes.

Garry was at home with his wife Carole, when he heard the good news.

"It was put up on the website, and then I also had a phone calls from a few people, saying 'well done'," says Garry.

"I have my son and daughter who have flown up from Christchurch to be with me, and we're sitting here this afternoon, having a drink, and sorting the world out.

His plans for the rest of the evening were fairly 'low-key'.

"I wasn't too sure what the results would be. You can't pre-suppose these things," says Garry. "The four of us will sit here and have dinner tonight."

It's back to work though on Monday for the re-elected mayor.

"I'll meet with the chief executive on Monday morning, and sit down with her and her team and let them know that our work continues on. Then we'll get up to speed with the new council."

Preliminary results, with all votes cast except special votes, are expected to be available on Sunday, October 13.

Votes for the rest of the council are as follows:

Councillor - Te Puke-Maketu Ward (four vacancies) 

Grant Dally 1767 4
Stephen Fawcett 1347  
Mike Lally 1454  
Monique Lints 2089 1
Kevin Marsh 1883 3
John Scrimgeour 2031 2

Councillor - Kaimai Beach Ward (four vacancies) 

Suaree Borell 1175  
Mark Dean 2099 3
John Evans 846  
Murray Grainger 1904 4
Margaret Murray-Benge 2411 1
John Palmer 1707  
Don Thwaites 2384 2

Councillor - Katikati-Waihi Beach Ward (three vacancies) 

Neil Candy 795  
John Clements 1172  
James Denyer 1918 1
Anne Henry 1265 3
Christina Humphreys 1434 2
Tangiwai Manihera-Palmer 380  
David Marshall 1126  
Allan Sole 1130  
Kevin Tohiariki 962  
George Van Dyke 796  

Maketu Community Board - Member (four vacancies)

William Ra Anaru 201 3
Shane Beech 235 1
Juliette Brawn 90  
Wendy McFadyen 80  
Laura Rae 221 2
Stephan Simpson 124 4

Te Puke Community Board - Member (four vacancies)

Richard Crawford 1117 1
Gina Davies 305  
Joan Dugmore 628  
Kassie Ellis 858 4
Stephen Fawcett 798  
Larissa Hika 438  
Richard McNair 500  
Tupaea Rolleston 988 2
Dale Snell 969 3

Omokoroa Community Board - Member (four vacancies)

John Evans 518 4
Peter Presland 914 1=
Derek Sage 803 3
Teresa Sage 914 1=
Puran Bhag Singh 513  

Katikati Community Board - Member (four vacancies)

John Clements 1317  
Neil Harray 1672 2
Christina Humphreys 1334 4
Norm Mayo 1124  
Kate Sutherland 1405 3
George Van Dyke 1024  
Ben Warren 1785 1
Kamal Yadav 1134  

Waihi Beach Community Board - Member (four vacancies)
The following candidates have been automatically elected as the number of candidates matched the number of vacancies.

Ross Goudie
Bob Hulme
Marilyn Roberts
Don Ryan

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now