Tauranga netball rep teams announced

Tauranga Netball have announced their representative teams for 2021. File Image. SunLive.

Tauranga Netball Centre have selected their representative teams for 2021.

Seven teams will represent the Tauranga region and for the first time ever, the club have mixed teams involved, as they aim to improve male inclusion in the sport.

Tauranga will have two under-14 female, one under-14 mixed, one under-16 female, one under-16 mixed and one under-18 women’s teams this year, as well as an open grade team, which has not yet been selected.

All teams involved will participate in pre-national tournaments in Auckland, Papakura, Hamilton and a home court event in Tauranga.

Mixed teams will only feature at Hamilton and Tauranga.

The under-14s and under-16s will then attend nationals at Taranaki with the under-18s national competition hosted by Rotorua.

Tauranga Netball Centre manager Tracy Walters says it was not an easy task putting the teams together after trials this year.

“We’re very happy,” says Tracy.

“We had a great turnout and it wasn’t easy for the selectors.

“All trialists should be very proud of firstly putting their hand up to trial and what was produced in terms of skill level over the three nights.”

She praises those who were selected, highlighting how impressive the achievement is.

“Being selected to represent the region is a big deal,” says Tracy.

“We are the largest centre in the Western Bay of Plenty and have a membership of around 3500-4000 players in total so to be chosen to represent in your respective age group is a real accomplishment.”

Tracy is also keen to thank the parents for their “crucial” role in helping the children involved stay focused and happy in the sport, as well as Pub Charity for their financial support which has proved a massive bonus.

As for the aims for this year’s Tauranga netball reps, Tracy makes it clear that success on the court is not the only important element for the teams.

“We obviously want to do well and we want to represent the region well,” admits Tracy.

“Not only playing but in regards to every part of the game and including our extended contingent of coaches, managers, umpires and supporters.

“Our focus is and always will be the development of our players, coaches and umpires in our sport and to do this we must be competitive and not only look at our rep players but our overall programme that produces high performing players and players that want to enjoy the sport socially.

“Our expectation will be for teams travelling together to support all teams and players throughout the tournament.”

Here are the Tauranga netball representative teams for 2021.

U14 Squad

Anna Hardie (Mount Maunganui College)

Ari Merriman (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Bella Devereaux (Mount Maunganui College)

Bella Silvester (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Braxton Clarke (Te Puke Intermediate)

Eden Parata (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Ella Aaifou-Olive (Aquinas College)

Eva Jeffries (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Havana Fortes (Papamoa College)

Jacob Whitley (Tauranga Intermediate)

Jada Ormsby (Mount Maunganui College)

Janita Lawrence (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Karena Murray (Katikati College)

Kingston Pokaia (Te Puke High School)

Lorenzo Tamaki (Papamoa College)

Maia Ormsby (Mount Maunganui College)

Maia Suttie (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Makere Toki (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Mia Price (Aquinas College)

Mia Taikato (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Millie Rogers (Mount Maunganui College)

Naera Wirihana-Cole (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Nevada Morunga (Tauranga Girls College)

Ngahaka Rolleston (Te Whare Kura O Mauao)

Noella Latu (Mount Maunganui College)

Pareawheawhe Biel (Te Kura Kokiri)

Shawn Stevens (Te Puke Intermediate)

Star Lilo ( Mount Maunganui College)

Violet Chamberlain (Te Puke High School)

Waihanea Hood (Te Whare Kura O Mauao)

U14 Reserves

Anacapri Jacobs (Te Puke Intermediate)

Cara Reti (Tauranga Intermediate)

Georgia-Rose Ellis (Mount Maunganui College)

Hailey Brown (Otumoetai College)

Keairah Te Kani (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Lily Wawatai (Papamoa College)

Madison Baird (Katikati College)

Sophie Plunkett (Mount Maunganui College)

Te Rina Timutimu (Aquinas College)

U16 Team

Anaaya Gould (Mount Maunganui College)

Chloe Hoult (Mount Maunganui College)

Georgia Verhoeven (Aquinas College)

Keilani Horne (Mount Maunganui College)

Leila Midwood (Papamoa College)

Mahinirangi Bezzant (Mount Maunganui College)

Maimoa Finau (Te Kura Kokiri)

Maiya Holliday (Mount Maunganui College)

Olivia Hala (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Phoebe Hoskins (Aquinas College)

U16 Mixed Team

Cerys Adkins (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Chloe McSweeny (Tauranga Girls’ College

Holly Bathgate (Bethlehem College)

Leilani Rooks (Katikati College)

Marereirateheketua Wilson (Te Puke High School)

Miriana Beilby (Aquinas College)

Nina Briggs (Katikati College)

Paris McConnell (Bethlehem College)

Saskia Rhind (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Zahne Martelli-Ririnui (Mount Maunganui College)

U16 Reserves

Ariella Midwood (Papamoa College)

Caitlyn Williams (Papamoa College)

Mariah Gardiner-Hano (Aquinas College)

Paige Peters (Otumoetai College)

Shaydene Macdonald (Tauranga Girls’ College)

Zharna Reiri (Te Puke Intermediate)

U18 Squad

Ashlyn Koce

Caitlin Pringle

Emily Muspratt

Jana de Graaf

Kennedy de Bono

Rylee Hoult

Stella Wilson

Stevie Morrison

Tasia Clarke

Tyra Roberts

U18 Reserves

Mia Burgess

Rachel Shirley

Taylor Efaraimo

Tylah Fisher

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now