Williamson sweeps NZC awards

Black Caps captain Kane Williamson. Image: Daniel Hines/SunLive.

Tauranga’s Kane Williamson has been awarded the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for the fourth time in six years at the ANZ New Zealand Cricket Awards for the 2020-21 season.

The medal is awarded to the Supreme Player of the Yea across all disciplines of the game and is not the only gong to be handed out to the Tauranga Boys’ College alumnus.

Northern Districts star Williamson was also awarded the ANZ International Test Player of the Year and the Redpath Cup for first-class batting, after he amassed a whopping 639 runs in just four innings at an average of 159.

In bowler friendly conditions, Williamson, the ICC ranked number one Test batsman in the world, recorded his top international score of 251 against the West Indies at Seddon Park in Hamilton, then a Boxing Day Test century on his home ground of Bay Oval in Tauranga.

Another double-century against Pakistan at Hagley Oval in Christchurch helped the Blackcaps book their place in the ICC World Test Championship Final.

“Going into the Test summer - there was that Championship Final carrot and there was a real drive there for the guys,” says Williamson in a call with Sir Richard Hadlee upon receiving the news of the award.

“Although it seemed a long way off, winning four tests before you’ve started one is a pretty lofty goal and we knew we just had to try and play as well as we could and commit to what was in front of us.

“To and do that for a long period of time and to spend some time at the crease personally and make contributions towards that … certainly pretty proud as a leader and a player in this side that we were able to achieve some of those things and we’re looking forward to that final.”

Williamson also made special mention of the ANZ International Test Player of the Year award.

“Test cricket is special in a big way to all the players and certainly to myself,” he says.

“Growing up watching the game, the tradition and history behind it, and I know all around the world cricketers still see it as the pinnacle of the game so it’s an award I feel fortunate to receive.

“To adapt the way we did when put into bat most times and then build partnerships and create first innings totals was really important to us.

“It was a really special summer with strong performances individually and collectively.”

It was not just Williamson shining a torch for Tauranga. Nensi Patel of Tauranga Girls College was awarded Gillette Venus Cup Player of the Year. One of the rising stars of New Zealand cricket the all-rounder is one to watch out for in the future.

Amy Satterthwaite and Amelia Kerr won the ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year and ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year awards respectively whilst Devon Conway won both awards for the men’s shorter formats.

2020-21 ANZ New Zealand Cricket Award Winners

Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

Bert Sutcliffe Medal for Outstanding Services to Cricket: Jeff Crowe

ANZ International Test Player of the Year: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

ANZ International Women’s ODI Player of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury)

ANZ International Men’s ODI Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)

ANZ International Women’s T20 Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)

ANZ International Men’s T20 Player of the Year: Devon Conway (Wellington)

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Frankie Mackay (Canterbury)

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury)

Women’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)

Men’s Dream11 Super Smash Player of the Year: Finn Allen (Wellington)

The Redpath Cup for first-class batting: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)

The Ruth Martin Cup for women’s domestic batting: Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury)

The Winsor Cup for first-class bowling: Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)

The Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling: Sarah Asmussen (Canterbury)

G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Umpire of the Year: Chris Brown

2020-21 NZC Community Awards

Gillette Venus Cup Player of the Year: Nensi Patel (Tauranga Girls College)

Gillette Cup Player of the Year: Angus Sidey (Christchurch Boys High School)

Club of the Year: Suburbs New Lynn

Volunteer of the Year: Fiona Hewetson (Taradale District Cricket Club)

Official of the Year: Roger Woolmer (Auckland Cricket)

Cricket Development Officer of the Year: Ramesh Subasinghe (Waikato Valley Cricket Association)

Best Female Engagement Initiative: Womens TONK (North Shore Cricket Club)

Outstanding Contribution and Services to Coaching: Karl Treiber (Kamo Cricket Club)

Outstanding Contribution to Cricket: Jeremy Busby (Cricket Wellington Umpires & Scorers Association)

Sir Jack Newman: Mark Simkin (Motueka Cricket Club)

You may also like...


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now